Daniel Jones

Daniel Jones is a doctoral researcher at Goldsmiths, University of London, exploring the relationships between complexity, creativity and social dynamics. This manifests itself in both scientific and artistic output: he has published work on music theory, creativity, systems biology and artificial life, and exhibits his digital work internationally, harnessing algorithmic processes to create self-generating artworks.

Recent works include Variable 4 (with James Bulley, 2011), an outdoor sound installation which transforms live weather conditions into musical patterns; Maelstrom (with James Bulley, 2012), which uses audio material from media-publishing websites as a distributed, virtual orchestra; Horizontal Transmission (2011), a digital simulation of bacterial communication mechanisms; and AtomSwarm (2006—2009), a musical performance system based upon swarm dynamics.

Daniel co-ordinated the technical infrastructure for The Fragmented Orchestra, winner of the prestigious PRSF New Music Award 2008. His audio development work for Papa Sangre and The Nightjar was nominated for two BAFTAS, including ‘Audio Achievement’.

www.erase.net, @ideoforms

Britten Sinfonia

Britten Sinfonia is one of the world’s most celebrated and pioneering ensembles. It is acclaimed for the quality of its performances, an inspired approach to concert programming which makes bold, intelligent connections across 400 years of repertoire and a versatility that is second to none. The orchestra breaks the mould by not having a principal conductor or director. Instead, it chooses to collaborate with a range of the finest international guest artists from across the musical spectrum, resulting in performances of rare insight and energy.

Founded in 1992, Britten Sinfonia aspires to the ethos of Benjamin Britten through world class performances, illuminating and distinctive programmes and a deep commitment to bringing outstanding music to both the world’s finest concert halls and the local community.

Alongside its new association with the Barbican, the orchestra enjoys residencies in Cambridge (where it is also the University’s Orchestra in Residence), Norwich and Brighton and makes regular guest appearances at UK festivals, from the BBC Proms and Glyndebourne to Latitude. Britten Sinfonia's growing international profile has included recent tours to America, South America, Mexico and Europe with performances in concert halls such as Lincoln Center New York, the Amsterdam Concertgebouw and the Colon Buenos Aires.

The orchestra celebrates its 20th anniversary in style at the Barbican on 27 October 2012 with a night of special guests and birthday surprises, setting the scene for a wide-ranging first season as Associate Ensemble at the Barbican.

www.brittensinfonia.com, @brittensinfonia

Peter Gregson

Peter Gregson is a cellist and composer ‘working at the forefont of the new music scene’ (The New Yorker). He has performed widely in Europe and the USA, at venues ranging from Kings Place, London to The Queen’s Hall in Edinburgh; from Twitter HQ in San Francisco to Le Poisson Rouge, New York, and festivals including Spitalfields, SXSW, Latitude, Cross-Linx, The Secret Garden Party and more. He collaborates regularly with world leading technologists, most recently including Microsoft Labs, UnitedVisualArtists and the MIT Media Lab, and has premiered more than 30 works for solo cello by composers including Steve Reich, Tod Machover, Max Richter, Joby Talbot and many more.

Peter's debut album, Terminal, was commissioned by Bowers and Wilkins, and followed by a limited edition 10” vinyl of new works by Max Richter and Johann Johannsson. ‘Cello Multitracks’ written for Peter by Gabriel Prokofiev, is being released in May 2012 on Nonclassical.

www.petergregson.co.uk, @petergregson


  • Daniel Jones
  • Peter Gregson

Musicians from Britten Sinfonia

  • Ben Chappell, Cello
  • Joy Farrall, Clarinet and Bass Clarinet
  • Stephen Williams, Ben Griffiths, Double Bass
  • Karen Jones, Flute
  • Laurence Davies, French Horn
  • Dominic Kelly, Oboe
  • Sarah O'Flynn, Piccolo
  • Clare Finnimore, Viola
  • Jacqueline Shave, Miranda Dale, Nicola Goldscheider, Violin

Additional Performers

  • Lally Pollen, Voice
  • Ian Anderson, Viola
  • Peter Gregson, Cello

Recorded and mixed by Neil Quinlan at Mute Studios, London.
Will Gibson, Assistant Engineer
Ben Ryan Editing



  • Sophie Cohen

Generous thanks to

  • Steve Allen
  • Jake Berger
  • David Butcher
  • Edward Hannay
  • Will Harriss
  • Julia Hodgson
  • Ian Hunter
  • Geraint Jones
  • Stef Lewandowski
  • Mo McRoberts
  • Ben Ryan

Further press information about The Listening Machine / Britten Sinfonia
from Sophie Cohen on 020 7428 9850 / 07711 551 787

, @scartspr

Further press information about The Space
from Dan Phelan on 0207 973 5236 / 07764 335 244